Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tricare Reserve Select help!

  1. Fresh Newbie
    gapeach6275's Avatar
    gapeach6275 is offline
    Fresh Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    #1

    Help Tricare Reserve Select help!

    Advertisements
    My husband is Georgia Army National Guard and we just purchased Tricare Reserve Select which goes into effect April 1st.

    I have contacted several doctors (found them on the tricare provider search thingy) but once I contact them and tell them I have Tricare Reserve Select they seems clam up and not know what I am talking about.

    I think contacted my point of contact for the insurance and was told that I could go to any doctor that accept Tricare and that reserve select is just like standard. Im so confused.

    Can anyone explain reserve select and how it works? Does it work differently from standard?
  2. Senior Member
    ArmyCupcake's Avatar
    ArmyCupcake is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    12,076
    #2
    It's the same as tricare. If you say tricare reserve select they'll look at you like you have 3 heads.
  3. Senior Member
    bain5511's Avatar
    bain5511 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    1,033
    #3
    It follows the same guidelines as standard. I used it, and all I had to do was make sure the provider accepted Tricare.
  4. Proud ARNG Wife
    JasonsWife8610's Avatar
    JasonsWife8610 is offline
    Proud ARNG Wife
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    578
    #4
    Its the same as standard. When you call just tell them that you have tricare and if they ask say standard because they normally ask if its prime or not and you can tell them no its not! We were on Reserve Select until they switched us to standard because DH is getting ready to deploy
  5. Banned
    gunsgirl's Avatar
    gunsgirl is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    17,275
    #5
    stop telling them you have the reserve select.

    I have reg standard and this is what I do:

    1) ask if they are accepting new patients

    2) ask if they take tricare standard

    they do not need to know anything else- it all bills to tricare the same.
  6. Regular Member
    lostinlakes's Avatar
    lostinlakes is offline
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    96
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by ArmyCupcake View Post
    It's the same as tricare. If you say tricare reserve select they'll look at you like you have 3 heads.

    so true, something about tricare and saying anything else makes people's head spin. I get the same thing when I am like "his ssn isn't on my ID, you are going to need it!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •