Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: can i use tricare for Kaiser hospital?

  1. Daisy dukes. Bikinis on top.
    NukesQueen's Avatar
    NukesQueen is offline
    Daisy dukes. Bikinis on top.
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    969
    #1

    can i use tricare for Kaiser hospital?

    Advertisements
    DB and I are talking marriage & my health insurance. Right now I'm on my fathers insurance and I go to Kaiser Permanente but when we're married and I switch will I be able to use it there? Does anyone know?

    ETA I have a pre-existing condition. I've been diagnosed with having Lupus, Sjögren's Syndrome, and Mixed Connective Tissue Disease so I need to see a rheumatologist.
  2. Ummmmm...........
    Abbynormal's Avatar
    Abbynormal is offline
    Ummmmm...........
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    8,438
    Blog Entries
    1

    #2
    I am fairly certain (not 100%) but every ER has to accept all forms of Insurance.

    ETA- After some thought...you have to see a specialist. So maybe you need to call tri-care like Chikatoka is suggesting.
  3. MilitarySOS Jewel
    tremblingturtle's Avatar
    tremblingturtle is offline
    MilitarySOS Jewel
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    14,195

    #3
    You can call tricare and ask. That would be your best bet honestly
  4. ...
    andreacn's Avatar
    andreacn is offline
    ...
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    St. Cloud, Minnesota
    Posts
    16,888
    #4
    I think you can either get on Prime and see someone Tricare appoints to you and then get a referral. Or go on Standard and chose a doctor that accepts Tricare and pay some out of pocket.
  5. skp
    The journey is the reward.
    skp's Avatar
    skp is offline
    The journey is the reward.
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4,476
    #5
    Kaiser is an HMO, so I don't think so.

    br33 is my professional deployment twin
    starsinthesky is my PAL
  6. Sesa Wo Suban
    Xarlelia's Avatar
    Xarlelia is offline
    Sesa Wo Suban
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    6,517
    #6
    As far as I know, you cannot go to Kaiser.
  7. Senior Member
    maegan's Avatar
    maegan is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fort Campbell
    Posts
    13,458
    #7
    Nope, I couldn't even go there for my BC when I switched.
  8. The grass is greener where it gets watered.
    Sarah.'s Avatar
    Sarah. is offline
    The grass is greener where it gets watered.
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    15,193
    #8
    No, since Kaiser is an HMO they do not accept "outside" insurance.

    What you CAN do, with Tricare, is enroll in Tricare Standard so that you can see civilian doctors, but you will have to transfer your medical care to a new set of doctors instead of continuing with Kaiser.
    “In my world, everyone's a pony and they all eat rainbows and poop butterflies!” ― Dr. Seuss
  9. Banned
    gunsgirl's Avatar
    gunsgirl is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    17,275
    #9
    no. you cannot use tricare at keiser.
  10. Senior Member
    *Stephanie*'s Avatar
    *Stephanie* is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    JBER; Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    16,315
    #10
    Yep, what they said. But you can opt to use Tricare Standard and choose your own doctors. I found with needed a lot of doctors appointments and medical tests that it was worth it to have more control of my health care (and not to have to see a PCM every couple weeks for another referral meaning I'd have to go to the doctor twice).
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •