Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Birth Control and TRICARE STANDARD

1. Senior Member

Confused Birth Control and TRICARE STANDARD

Advertisements
    I'm new to being an Army wife and we just filled out all the Army paperwork for DEERS and such. The lady at TRICARE told me I'm on TRICARE STANDARD now.

I'm still technically on my mothers insurance and I want to get off and just have TRICARE STANDARD since it's a better plan for me.

My question is I'm currently getting birth control through my mother insurance plan. I go to Wal-mart and pick it up each month. Since I'm going to be changing my insurance to TRICARE Standard, will I be able to still get my birth control on TRICARE without going to a new doctor to prescribe it to me? Or will I need to find a new doctor to prescribe it to me? What have been your experiences?

DH: "I love you so much beautiful. Thanks for always being there and believing in me. It just makes me love you more!"
  2. Senior Member
    You can still use that prescription as long as you have refills left on it. Just give the pharmacy your new insurance. I did that recently .. my birth control actually got a little cheaper!
  3. Together, Apart, Together, Apart .. its the Navy
    Together, Apart, Together, Apart .. its the Navy
    You can still use that prescript if you have refills left.. and get it filled out in town. An MTF will not take a pre script from out in town. If you were to switch to a PCM/OB-GYN on base then you would have to get a new pap done so that they could write you an order for your BC to be done at the pharmacy on base.

Kinda strange.... easy to remember.... Military Dr.. used on or off base, Civi. Dr.. off base only.
    Florida girl in a Snowy World
  4. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    Quote Originally Posted by Pickels View Post