Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: girlfriend/fiancee vs. wife?

1. jessicam

girlfriend/fiancee vs. wife?

Advertisements
    My DF and I got engaged in April, so I'm still learning the ropes of the military. What are the benefits that I'll be eligible to receive once we're married?

I know that I'll be able to shop at the commissary without him, go to the gym on post, be able to receive military health care, be able to live in housing on post . . . any other major benefits to being married in the military?

Basically, I'm trying to decide if it makes sense to do a civil marriage before our Church wedding next October. I will be moving with him to Fort Riley when he returns from Iraq.
  2. Loves Joser :)
    Loves Joser :)
    im new to all this too but i would love to know the rope around as well because df & i getting married in feb! and i will be moving on base around march i hope! but i've been really "married to the military" and thats has alot of great info!
  3. Eternal Member
    Eternal Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jessicam View Post
    My DF and I got engaged in April, so I'm still learning the ropes of the military. What are the benefits that I'll be eligible to receive once we're married?

I know that I'll be able to shop at the commissary without him, go to the gym on post, be able to receive military health care, be able to live in housing on post . . . any other major benefits to being married in the military?

Basically, I'm trying to decide if it makes sense to do a civil marriage before our Church wedding next October. I will be moving with him to Fort Riley when he returns from Iraq.

Isn't that enough? lol Depending how you look at it...another "major" might be that you get to shop at the BX/PX oh and let's not forget...all that comes with a nice lil spiffy mil dependant ID card
  4. Formerly "Chels"
    Formerly "Chels"
    Blog Entries