Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Tri-Care Question

1. I'm Cristina!
    I'm Cristina!

Help Tri-Care Question

Advertisements
    Hi I am sorry but I have a question. I am new to this and you see my boyfriend and I were thinking about getting married before he deployed. Well, I was wondering how long it would take for me to get on Tri-Care. I am pregnant and I am on my parents insurance and it's covering everything. So I was also wondering how much it covers. And how do you know who takes it? So I guess here are my questions:
    1. How long does it take to get on Tri-Care?
    2. How much will it cover?
    3. Do regular offices take it? I am having twins so I have an actual OBGYN and wondered if it covered most of the costs.

Sorry I know my boyfriend is trying to get as much info as he can but he is doing pre-deployment stuff and I am lost as to where to go to get these questions answered. So if any of you can give me any information that would be GREAT!! And you would be amazing!
  2. Senior Member
    San Antonio, TX & Hubz is in Camp Lejeune, NC
    Blog Entries
    I am not a pro at Tricare but I have been on it as long as I have been alive just different sponsors and as far as i know it coveres basically everything as long as you go to a military installation to see a doctor (they have OBGYN's and everything)

if you decide to go to a regular family doctor (you can find who accepts tricare by going to their website and searching for OBGYN in your area and they will give you a list- or you can call the # on the back of your tricare card and it will give you names and numbers i believe) it should be like a small co pay and everything else should be covered. Once you are enrolled they will send you a huge packet that tells you everything that is covered so you can always refer to that just in case. What is good about going to a military installation is that everything is free- perscriptions and all...