Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pros and cons of military lifestyle

1. Regular Member

Pros and cons of military lifestyle

Advertisements
    Well my BF has been talking about marriage alot lately. He has made it very clear that he is ready and he loves my daughter and I. He told me a few days ago he want me make sure I can handle the military life style and deployments. He goes on his first deployment soon. I have no experience with the military so it had me thinking maybe I can come ask you all what are the pros and cons for you with the military lifestyle? How is it as a wife/husband? How is it as far as raising children? Do children have a hard time adjusting? Is it lonely or do you overall enjoy it? Is moving so often hard or do you like the experience of new places? Etc. Please any advise would be greatly appreciate
  2. Senior Member

DH and I are mil to mil and have a 6 month old daughter. For us its not a lifestyle its just our job like any other job. We go to work, daughter goes to daycare, we go home. We are moving to Turkey in a couple months and it will be the same thing there.
  3. Senior Member
    Moving often is hard for me. As a military child, it wasn't hard at all, though my dad got out before I started junior high, which is probably when it would have started to get tough.

I think it absolutely depend son your personality. You have to be willing to be independent and handle every part of your own business. You have to be able to be happy and complete and full when you are on your own.

There are days and times where it is tough, but overall, I really don't think it's a big deal. For us, the adventure, the job stability and decent pay, and being together for a lot of interesting, incredible things far outweigh any bad.
    Science always wins over bullshit. ~Dick Rutkowski
  4. Senior Member