Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Pre-deployment detachment?

1. Regular Member

Confused Pre-deployment detachment?

Advertisements
    Hi everyone! I'm a newbie on this board... Just a quick question: Is it normal for the guy to start to act like all will be well, nothing to worry about, and never bring up how much he'll miss you? Don't get me wrong, he's not super cold, or not talking to me... we've seen each other almost everyday for the past 2 weeks, which is awesome. But I've noticed he won't want to talk about how much I'll miss him and what not. I know J, and I know he pushes away a lot of emotions... I've only seen him truly open up about his fears a few times... so I'm just wondering if this is normal.

Just as a background, we have been together for almost 3 years, but during that time we both had school, so he didn't really deploy for long periods of time. This is our first "real" deployment, and all other deployments he's had when we weren't together, he was single (so he didn't have anyone to really comfort except for perhaps his mom).

Thanks for any insight!! xoxo
  2. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    Hi there!

I am brand spanking new to this as well. I can share with you that my guy was the same way for a few weeks leading up to the day he left (been gone a week tomorrow). The morning he left, he completely broke down when saying goodbye.

He was definitely the rock I expected him to be leading up to that day. I didn't expect him to be as emotional as he was but it made me realize that deep down he was really feeling the pain of leaving.

K~
  3. Don't ever settle for less than you deserve.
    Don't ever settle for less than you deserve.
    First off it's VERY normal.