Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: My career or my relationship? (long)

1. Senior Member

My career or my relationship? (long)

Advertisements
    Okay, well maybe it isn't as simple as that - it might not have to be one or the other, but it probably will.

I'm about to turn 29 and have been messing around for many years trying to decide on a career.

I've found something that I am really interested in doing - being a fire fighter. I think I could actually love this and make a career out of it, unlike everything I've done up until now. (And unlike everything I studied for) I REALLY want to do this and i've been training for nearly a year to get fit enough.

The problem is, New Zealand (where I live) is mainly made up of voluntary fire brigades. Very few of the places DB could end up being sent to are places with paid fire brigades. So, if I choose to go ahead with this dream I'm basically choosing to live in a city that I'm pretty sure DB won't be living in.

Not only that, but the training for the next intake will start only a couple of weeks before DB gets home from deployment. So instead of the trip to Italy we were planning to take during his leave, I will hardly get to see him at all when he gets back.

I don't know how to choose between the two. DB says he doesn't want to stand in my way when he knows how much I want to be a firefighter. But how do I pick something that I know will take me away from him potentially forever? (Because I know long distance is possible, but we're talking our entire careers here)
  2. Am
    DO THIS. Do it for yourself or you will resent your SO later. You can always switch to voluntary later if need be. Your trip can be postponed. It doesn't have to be one or the other.
  3. Lurker Extraordinaire
    Lurker Extraordinaire
    Quote Originally Posted by Am View Post