Thread: Long distance for a long time

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    Lv. Percent
    45%

Long distance for a long time

Advertisements
    Hi Ladies (and gents),
    This is my first post here so please excuse me if I do anything wrong. I started this looking for support. My boyfriend lives in San Angelo, Tx and I am a Nursing Student in Pennsylvania. I feel like I will never see him. We text and call whenever he is able, but it doesn't help that he games a lot. I just feel lost and alone. I will (hopefully) be able to see him again in December if I can afford to fly down there. If not I will hopefully be able to see him at my graduation in May and then move down with him.

Sorry for the rant. Is there any advice that you folks have to help make all this go faster. I miss him terribly and just am counting down the days until I can see his face again.
  2. Regular Member
    Lv. Percent
    60.75%

LDR can work

Here are my 2 cents.
    I have been in different states and in different countries from my DH many times over the years of our LDR and yeah, there are days it just sucks but you do get into a rhythm of life with them gone. I find that communication is helpful. Email, messenger, phone call, video chat, snail mail - whatever it is that works for the two of you will be the glue that binds you together. If he is playing a game online, is it one you can play with him? (Not a gamer so not sure how all that works.)
    While we were dating my DH once drove 1100 miles (16 hours) each way on a 3 day weekend just to see me.
    He put in the effort. If a man loves you, he shows it.

Meeting half way between where he is and you are makes any drive easier. You are about what 24 hours (or so) away from each other? What is in the middle? Meet there. It is feasible sometime between now and Dec, certainly between now and May.
    Might be cheaper to buy an airline ticket - much cheaper if bought in advance.