Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I being too needy or is he being a jerk?

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Am I being too needy or is he being a jerk?

Advertisements
    Hey friends, I'm new to the long-distance military relationship thing and looking for some community support and advice. My boyfriend is in an extremely intensive training period, we're 1200 miles apart and I'm having a really hard time. I don't know whether I am being too needy or what.

He has twelve-hour days five days a week, plus homework. That's the thing - how can I complain when I've never experienced something that difficult?? Our relationship currently consists of a phone call almost every day and visits every month or two, which I know I'm incredibly fortunate to have. But I'm starting to get a weird feeling about it. When we do talk, the conversation is normally 75% about him. On his off days when he's chilling at home, it can take him hours to respond to simple text messages. I occasionally send him emails that he literally NEVER replies to - I always have to ask him "did you see my email." I have sent him a few little gifts and a care package, and again, I often have to ask him "did you receive my package" to get him to mention it. I'm starting to feel like he values me listening to him talk about training but chooses to ignore most of my other overtures of affection. When I call him out on these things, he gets very defensive and upset.

I want to be as understanding and supportive as possible, since we love each other and I know he's doing what he was made to do. Those of you with some experience, help--what's going through a guy's mind at this stage in their military career? Is this a normal level of "I'm consumed by my assignment" or should I be concerned?
  2. Senior Member
    Well no one can really say but from experience when they are in tough programs and homework they are just fried.