Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to being a Navy Girlfriend and Having a difficult time keeping it together

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

New to being a Navy Girlfriend and Having a difficult time keeping it together

Advertisements
    Hi,

My boyfriend and I have been together for 2 months. He's been enlisted in the Navy for two years maybe a bit longer. He got discharged from working on submarines, because of medical reasons but is now being re-stationed somewhere else. California, Japan, Florida, and Virginia are all options he says. He's at the base in CT where I live and go to college. I'm a sophomore. I've been a mess and don't know how I can handle the distance since I have never dated someone committed to the Navy/Military in any way. How do you make the pain of losing someone you fell in love with so quickly and jump into a long distance relationship bearable? I've cried daily for the last two weeks since he first told me he was being relocated. I'm also scared that now he will receive a job that he could be deployed in. I'm constantly anxious and trying to hold it together, and I'm sure making a decision on a job is just as difficult and stressful for him also. I just don't know how to deal with this pain of being distant for so long. He still has at least 3 years of enlistment and I'm not sure if he wants to reenlist. Everything is so unpredictable. If anyone could show me so support or help I could use as much as possible. Everyday eats away at me more and more not knowing when he could be leaving.
  2. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

I don't have much advice on LDR but I would recommend just getting into a routine and communicating as much as is possible. With a new job yes he could deploy, but he could've done that on a submarine too...it's part of his job and if you love him unfortunately its something you'll have to deal with.
  3. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie