Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: How to Beat the Blues?!

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

How to Beat the Blues?!

Advertisements
    Hello everyone! I'm new to MSOS and I've just been looking for people who understand military relationships first hand!

My DB and I have been dating for about 7 months now, we were aquaintances in high school but became inseparable during his leave last December while I was home from college. He was here in the U.S. till this past spring and now he's currently overseas 4,000 miles away. Things were amazing when he was in the U.S., FaceTime daily, two hour time difference, it was easy for the most part!

Now that he's in another country however things have changed. His current living situation barely has wifi so communication is more difficult along with the limited time window we can talk due to work/sleep. It took both of us some time to adjust, but even after three-four months of this change, some days either he or I will be in a big rut over missing each other, he'll feel guilty/angry for being so far, or I'll just get a wave depressed/loneliness and we just kind of cheer eachother up and remind ourselves of the long terms goals. His living quarters will change once fall comes so communication will be a bit more smooth, but the distance and time difference will surely still be there.

I was just wondering for those who may have been in a LDR longer, do these rough days ever become less frequent? How do you handle the distance? How do you handle the feelings of doubt or frustration?
  2. Senior Member