Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: expectations vs. reality

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

expectations vs. reality

Advertisements
    Hi I'm new to the military community!

So I met my guy in December, unfortunately we could only meet up once but that was enough for us to continue talking all the way up to now. Through months of incessant texting and skyping later, we reached a point where we could finally spend time together since he was coming back to the states for some training (he's special forces (6 years)--I believe it's legit, I've done some research and it all matches up). So of course that was the only thing we wanted to talk about; we pictured how amazing it would be and how we both couldn't wait. So it happened and expectations didn't line up with reality as being as glamorous and romantic as we both hoped. He couldn't get the full time off he wanted in between the time after his training graduation and his next training and he got extremely sick while I was there. After I left and for the next week, communication kind of dropped off due to him having to work and having to deal with his progressively worsening sickness. He's usually a very good communicator so this was something I haven't experienced, but then I got one last text from him that apologized for being MIA but then that was it and now its been 5 weeks and I'm still waiting. I remember him saying his next training was about a month and half so this all goes along with that, however my mind just goes back to a lot of doubt; thinking about what I could have done/said differently when I met up with him or who knows. He spoke with me throughout his other training, so I wasn't expecting a drop off.