Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feeling very alone and disheartened.

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Feeling very alone and disheartened.

Advertisements
    Hi all.
    I'm very new to this. My boyfriend is now in Basic Training. Within the next few weeks he should be graduating and going to AIT for 26 weeks.

I'm not used to so little communication. Lately I have been feeling very ill, lonely, and depressed. This is my first experience with the Army as no one in my family has ever gone.
    I'm so terrified. Some days I feel like I'm on top of the world, and the luckiest girl alive. Others (such as today) I feel miserable, and I feel like I'm not going to be alright. No one really understands. I keep being told "You'll be fine." "You're acting weird." and the best comment yet "If you're miserable leave him."

The truth is I have thought about it. But I absolutely cannot. I'm totally in love with my soldier. I'm only 18 years old. I'm so terrified of what kinds of things I'll have to do on my own--such as graduating college. My soldier is in for 4 years. He told me to stay strong, because I'm his rock in all of this. But what can I do? How can I stay strong when I feel so awful inside...?

I'm trying so hard but each passing week of no communication, and continuous thoughts and fears of future deployments are breaking me down very quickly.
    I write him daily, but I obviously will not tell him I'm miserable. I keep my letters cheery so he'll feel alright. I know if I can wait it out we can be so very happy together; but I need a little help getting through this.

I would love nothing more than to hear other experiences--the good and the bad.
    Thank you all in advance.

**I also suffer from diagnosed anxiety/depression so I feel like the odds are against me.**
  2. The name says it all!
    The name says it all!