Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: New and challenging..

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Help New and challenging..

Advertisements
    I'm not only new to military relationships, this being my only one I've ever had, but I'm also new to long distance.. I've dealt with about 4hrs separating an SO and I, but never hundreds of miles. All of this is so much harder than I ever imagined. I miss my DB more than I could describe, which I'm sure many of you are used to. Even harder is the distance between us is going to get worse, much worse, before it gets any better. And these weeks where my DB is completely unable to communicate (call, text, skype, write, anything) are so painful.. Can anyone please offer me methods of coping with this all? I've been trying to whole journaling thing and writing "letters" about what I wish I could talk to him about even though I can't send them to him. I have a fun little countdown going until I get to see him next. It's just not helping. I'm just so lost and really struggling on how to keep my head up when I miss him so so much. I have no one here who gets how I feel other than his mom, who is an incredible woman BTW, but we hardly get time to talk to each other about any of this. I just really need some help and support in dealing and becoming more accustomed to all of this.
  2. we were all rooting for you
    we were all rooting for you

Is your DB in boot camp? Why can't you send letters - has he just arrived there, or do you not have his address? Either way it won't go on forever!

Do you have any hobbies, or are you in school? Try and find things to fill your time. Volunteer, take a class, exercise, train for a 5k, just get out there and have fun! The time will start to pass soon.
  3. Regular Member
    As a wife who just got done with my DH being at basic it gets better. I assume that is where he is at?