Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Support for international distance

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Help Support for international distance

Advertisements
    So my boyfriend (CPL Marines) and I just celebrated our 1 year anniversary. I am a college student and when I'm at school we're 4hrs away but when i'm home for the summer and breaks he's only 30mins away BUT we found out a couple months ago that he will be leaving in Oct for Fuji, Japan. He says it is AT LEAST a year probably two, and that most likely he won't be able to take leave at all for the 1st year. And besides the $3,000 dollar plane ticket, since I'm only a girlfriend I wouldn't be able to stay with him if I visited. We have committed ourselves to one another saying that we want to spend our lives with each other. We are waiting because both of us are not ready to get married. He needs to focus on work and I have to finish school. I do NOT want to have to do school work on my honeymoon. So i'm having a hard time preparing for this trip. I find myself thinking about how long a year is and that he will be gone longer then we have been together. THAT'S CRAZY! At least i'll have two more years of school to distract me and keep me busy. But I'm not finding the support I need from my family and friends. My parents, even though they say they like him they don't think were gonna last and they have no problem making that well known to me. And my friends just say "I don't know how you do it" or "why don't you just take a break while he's gone?". They just don't get it.

So I thought I'd try to ask people who do get it. Any advise for an international move?
  2. Senior Member
    You can find tickets for way, way less than $3000, so don't rule that out entirely. And you can stay in a hotel, or find other options if you do visit. It may be possible.