Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: I didn't know DB's deployment would affect DD....

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

I didn't know DB's deployment would affect DD....

Advertisements
    Let me start with this, I am very new to military life. I actually never wanted to be a part of it until I met DB. I just never thought I had it in me to be able to handle this life.
    We had only been dating a few months when he deployed. In fact, I didn't even intro DB and DS until about a month before (I'm picky about who I intro my DD to). Before he left, I explained everything to her, as much as I could to a 6 year old. I wanted her to know that if mom was sad sometimes, that was why. They have exchanged brief hellos and goodbyes to each other if she happened to be there when I was Skyping with him. I relay messages if we are chatting on FB (again, also brief). She makes things to send to him and helps me do his care packages. I thought everything was fine and she was just coasting through while I was struggling to get through each day without thinking about DB constantly. Then one day she looked at me and said, "I miss (him), Mom." I was stunned. It never crossed my mind that deployment would be affecting her too, even if it's just a little. My question is this, how do I help her cope when I'm still trying to figure out how to get through this myself? I've tried to look for blogs about helping a step(ish)child through deployment and haven't really found anything.
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    Talk, Listen, Connect - Tool Kits - Parents - Sesame Street

I don't know if your DD likes Sesame street, but I know a lot of people use this toolkit to hep their kids with military transitions. I don't have any btdt advice as last time dh was deployed our oldest was only 3 months when he came back.

3. Moderator