Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Hubby Considering Military, worried about Kids

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Hubby Considering Military, worried about Kids

Advertisements
    Hello everyone
    My name is Stephanie and I am new to MSOS. I am actually not a military wife yet, but may soon be. My husband and I are 25 and have 2 little ones, 6 and 2. He has talked about the military for a long time and more recently brought it up in a more serious manner. We have not come to a final decision yet, but I was hoping to maybe get some advice/words of wisdom/ anything at all really from those who have or are going through the experience. I am very worried about what effect it will have on our kids with him being gone. Anything thoughts?? Thank you for anything you may have to share with me.
  2. Senior Member
    My kids are 19 months and almost 8 months old. The older knows that daddy is gone and it has hard on him for a little while, but kids adjust really fast. and they are very resilient. I personally wouldn't worry too much about that until you know what branch and MOS he'll be looking in to. just keep in mind if he does decide to join that some jobs keep them away from their families more and maybe try to steer clear of those if he can.
  3. Senior Member

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by marine.gf View Post
    My kids are 19 months and almost 8 months old. The older knows that daddy is gone and it has hard on him for a little while, but kids adjust really fast. and they are very resilient. I personally wouldn't worry too much about that until you know what branch and MOS he'll be looking in to. just keep in mind if he does decide to join that some jobs keep them away from their families more and maybe try to steer clear of those if he can.
    I am not sure which branch you are looking at but I agree with ^ .