Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hiring a housekeeper?

1. Ummmmm...........
    Ummmmm...........
    Blog Entries

Hiring a housekeeper?

Advertisements
    So since DH deployed, my housekeeping skills have slipped...a lot. Between working and everything else going on, I can't keep up on my own. Plus, I'm lazy

I decided to look into hiring someone to come maybe twice a month and just do the basics. Vacuum, clean the bathroom, dust, any dishes that might be in the sink when she gets here, mop and clean the kitchen floors and appliances if they need it. No laundry. I have never done this before. And I feel a little lost. I was looking into cleaning services and I just don't think that will work for me. My work schedule is just to unpredictable for that plus it's soooo much money. One service I looked at said $80 an hour. Yeah, no thanks.

A girl on a milso san diego facebook group posted about cleaning houses. I messaged her, but I'm just not sure on what the smart, safe way is to go about this. I explained my apartment to her and the things I would want done and she came up with a price of $65 (possibly more for the initial clean, understandable) per cleaning. Would that be fair for a 700 sq foot 1bd/1bath apartment? I don't want to get ripped off and I certainly don't want her to get ripped off either. She would also have to drive 20 minutes to get here. Not clear on if she would want to be kids (from her facebook it appears she has 2 young kids, no school age just yet), but I'm not oppose to it as long as they are decently behaved. I told her it would be fine. Also, with my work schedule I would only be able to give her 7 days notice, which she said would be okay. Explained I'm flexible and if my days off that week don't work for her or she has other stuff going on, we can skip that week.