Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time living together, moving across the country, eep!

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

First time living together, moving across the country, eep!

Advertisements
    For now, my boyfriend and I are long distance while I save up and prepare to join him in a few months. I'm brand new to a lot of the experiences that I've had in this relationship. I've never had a 1,000 mile long distance relationship (longest was 50 miles maybe?), I've never dated someone in the military, and, come a few months from now, I've never lived with a significant other.

There's so much that I'm looking forward to and there's so much that I'm anxious about! I can't wait to just have him around, for at least 6 months out of the year, and to start our lives together. But I'm scared to leave my friends and family, I've never lived outside of the state that I grew up in, and I don't know what to expect. I'm not even sure how long we'll be there for.

So I guess what I'm looking for is maybe some words of wisdom from people who have done this whole moving thing a time or two. How do you get jobs 1,000 miles away? Do you just have to wait until you get out there? I've been putting in applications but recruiters just keep saying to call when I'm closer to moving out. How do you adjust/ make friends so that your SO isn't your whole social life? How do you adjust to sharing so much with someone you love? Basically, in general, what are some things I can expect and how can I prepare for this? It's weird to know that all these changes are coming, but it's not time to pack boxes and file change of address forms just yet. I really couldn't be happier though!
  2. Senior Member