Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: If I do it right...

1. Moderator

If I do it right...

Advertisements
    do you think I can save money by sewing most of my bebe's clothing? I figure I could probably hit up remnant sales since I won't need much yardage for any single piece. I have yet to purchase a single item of baby anything because I hate how expensive it is. But I'm wondering if it will be worth it since I have almost none of the notions. That means I'd be buying all new patterns, thread and buttons and such and I'm guessing that's where the bulk of the expense will come in. Baby boy stuff should be fairly simple to make though, right? I am not a beginner but I wouldn't put my skill in the "intermediate" category yet either.

Thoughts?
  2. Senior Member
    It would probably be cheaper to check out yard sales and thrift stores. Find a thrift store near you that has a discount day, a military discount, or a day where they do one shopping bag full for $5. Thrift stores are packed with baby items, since they are outgrown so fast, so you can get them for $2 each, or less. I doubt you can sew them for that is you need to purchase patterns.
    Science always wins over bullshit. ~Dick Rutkowski
  3. Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by villanelle View Post
    It would probably be cheaper to check out yard sales and thrift stores. Find a thrift store near you that has a discount day, a military discount, or a day where they do one shopping bag full for $5. Thrift stores are packed with baby items, since they are outgrown so fast, so you can get them for $2 each, or less. I doubt you can sew them for that is you need to purchase patterns.
    This is probably true. I bought all of Lyric's baby clothes in used lots on ebay and it usually wound up around $2 per item or so.
  4. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel