Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: I want to buy land

1. Free!
    Free!

I want to buy land

Advertisements
    This is not going to happen for a few years but I want get land to build a home. I'm thinking a bigger piece of property (30-50 acres) and have a general idea of where (smokey mountains) but I'm not sure of the process. I figure that it's different than buying a house and when I get it I don't plan to immediately get to building on it so I'm curious if anyone else here has done it.

What type of land were you looking for? Price range? etc?
  2. I miss Target & Trader Joe's, open roads & the smell of home
    I miss Target & Trader Joe's, open roads & the smell of home

I googled it the other day, but I'm no expert by any means From what I read, property loans are generally with local banks, but a shorter length of time (3-15 years, not 30) and a higher interest rate. Some require more than 20% down too.

I also read that it "used to be" that if your land was paid for when you wanted to build, you can get a construction loan to build your house without any down, because your land is a paid-for security interest. I would think that's still true, but someone on the internet said "those days are gone."
  3. Senior Member
    I know this is an old post but being that we are closing on our land in a couple of weeks, I figured I could answer your question

1) You either have to go to a local bank or do owner financing
    2) You need either 20-30% down typically, most are interest only for 3-5years. Some banks will do normal amortization though
    3) Whether owner financed or bank financed, many have a stipulation that you can NOT make any improvements on the land while there is a note on it
    4) if it is after a year since you bought the land, most banks will assess the land based on appraised value to determine your down payment for the construction loan. If it is less than a year, they use purchase price.