Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Managing student loan debt

1. Team Rocket
    Team Rocket

Managing student loan debt

Advertisements
    How did you decide which repayment plan to use? Do you pay more than the minimum? Did you consolidate?

Mine are going to be due starting next month and I am still deciding how to approach it

DH wants to pay them off ASAP no matter how difficult it would make our ability to save for a new car for me/have extra spending money. But he has an irrational fear of debt. I feel like it's not worth it to pay them off SO quickly, especially since I could be investing the $$ in my IRA and getting a higher return on interest.

Any advice?
    WiggleWiggle~ is my Wifey
  2. Senior Member

I had leftover scholarship money when I graduated, so I paid of a big chunk that way, which put my minimum payment at $0 for the next five or so years. So now, I pay whatever is leftover after paying off my credit card each month (I strictly use credit and pay it off completely each month).

3. Breathe and chill
    Breathe and chill
    Blog Entries

My school loan payments are more a month than our mortgage. I literally work to pay nothing but my school loans
    Put on your big girl panties and deal with it like a boss.

4. Senior Member
    Is your IRA return greater than the interest on the loans? I just applied for the IBR repayment plan.

Visit My Fitness Like Page for fitness tips and inspiration and Visit My New Fitness Blog
  5. The Decider
    The Decider
    Blog Entries
    I did not consolidate. I try to pay $2000-$3000/mo. (I'm in school currently, so I have no minimum payment, but I did the same thing while my loans were in repayment, which was 4x-6x my minimums.)

If you feel you'll get better return in other investments, that may be the case. The majority of my debt is wrapped up in loans around 7.3% interest, which is pretty hefty.