Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Bank the money in savings or pay off credit card debt??

1. OG Member
    OG Member
    Blog Entries

Bank the money in savings or pay off credit card debt??

Advertisements
    So DH and I are in the process of buying a house, we currently have a little over $25,000 in savings. We've paid off most of our credit card debt and the only one left is a Discover card which I've been fighting and paying on for a couple years now because I racked it up when I didn't know or understand the penalties and interest on credit cards. I've got it paid down to about $1400. I just got our escrow refund from the house we sold which is about $2500.

Here is where the dilemma comes in, should I pay for our POD ($230) and then bank the rest of the escrow refund or should I pay the POD and then pay the Discover card off and then bank the remaining $800 or dollars in savings then put the payments I was going to make on the discover in savings as they come around? The card has a really high interest rate and I really just want to get rid of it because it feels like fighting an uphill battle but I'm worried that it'd look bad to the bank for me to pay off that card instead of saving the money...

Any input here would be appreciated.

2. verabot89
    verabot89
    Always put your money where the highest interest rate is. If you have a high interest rate on the credit card, pay it off and get it done, you know? ETA: It won't look bad to the bank... the less debt you have when you go to try to buy, the better, I'm sure.
    MrsJennyyy is mah wife

3. Team Rocket
    Team Rocket
    Pay off the card. You can't make more money by saving the $$ because your saving account has a much lower interest rate than the card. So pay off the card now and use the money later to save or invest.