Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Speak to me about

1. Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Speak to me about

Advertisements
    Credit cards!

I am currently a student with no debt and, honestly, thanks to the grants I've been able to get I'm not really struggling that badly for money right now as I live pretty frugally and am good at saving my money. However, I am very conscious of the fact that I have no credit history, at all. In the next few years when circumstances allow DB and I plan to move in together, we want to eventually buy our own home, and I know having a good credit score is important for that.

I would like to be able to build up a good credit history and I have read that getting a credit card is a good way to do that, obviously dependent on making your repayments. I wouldn't for see any problems with that since I'm very responsible with my money. So I was just wondering what you ladies and gents thought about credit cards? Would you recommend I get one and why/why not? Any tips on going about getting one?

Also, I'm from the UK so our credit card companies will be different, but I'm sure the advice will be pretty similar.

TIA

"You are platinum in a world gone grey."
  2. Senior Member

Get one from your bank (or a bank-good one) rather than a third party company.

3. Senior Member
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Trollbie View Post
    Get one from your bank (or a bank-good one) rather than a third party company.
    Thanks, I was leaning towards one from my own bank since they have a good deal and it would keep all my banking in one place.

4. Formerly BooBoo_Bear
    Formerly BooBoo_Bear
    I got in a lot of credit card trouble when I was 20 because I was a pushover and let my son's dad use me.

I'm now at the point that I think my credit union should grant me a high risk card to help me build my credit. Its a great way to do it, as long as you're smart.