Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice?

1. Senior Member

Help Advice?

Advertisements
    I need a new laptop. Mine has bit the dust. I am a designer, so I use graphics programs such as the Adobe Creative Suite (All Premium versions.. Photoshop, etc). So, I need a stable computer so that I can keep up with Freelance work at home. I currently have a Macbook Pro, about 4 years old. Over the years, I've put a new harddrive in it, and early on, it needed a new harddrive cable.. I took it to Apple yesterday to figure out why it spins and spins, and they wiped it clean for me, but it's still not great, and there's NOTHING on there yet.

Needless to say.. I need a new computer. I can either:

Option 1- buy a new Macbook Pro outright
    I have enough in a savings I built up.. I use that savings to reach a certain amount, usually to match a student loan, then pay off the student loan in full- it lowers my monthly payments. I've done this 3 times in the last year, making me cut down my total amount due by 16k- so it's been a good system to say the least. If I buy it outright, I'd still have a bit left in that savings, but it wasn't planned to use it for a computer.

Option 2- get a credit card thru Apple (they partner with Barclaycard)..
    I've already been approved, but I haven't actually accepted the terms/card yet. I am aware that an account may already been open since I applied for it (I just wanted to see if I would get approved, and for how much). My payments would be about $100/month, which I could manage, but I don't want another monthly bill. My husband however thinks it would be a good way to build "free" credit, since I COULD pay it in full in the 18 month promo period (no interest), and build my credit up. Other than student loans, I only have one the credit card thru USAA, which I've always paid on time.. Never even have a minimum monthly payment, because I always pay more.