Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: newb credit question

1. Regular Member

newb credit question

Advertisements
    Ok, so I don't really have any credit. I've never had a credit card, taken out a loan, anything like that, other than renting my apartment. My boyfriend doesn't have a credit card either, but he does have some credit from making payments on my ring. His bank also set him up with an account where he's borrowing $500 from the bank and paying it off while they hold $500 of his money for a year, and then they'll give back his $1000 in october, when the year is up.
    My apartment complex required a credit check, but allowed me to rent the apartment because I'm a student and the apartment is in a college town.
    So my question is, when he and I get hitched (in december), will my lack of credit affect the small amount of good credit that he's incurred, once we're married?? And if I get a credit card now and pay it off as I go, will the good credit I'd have incurred by then have a positive affect on our credit as a couple, or will it not make that much of a difference?
    Also, do the apartments near the bases require good credit, or are they similar to my current complex, where as long as theres no bad spots on your credit report they'll lease to you?
    Sorry for all the questions, hahaha. And thanks for the help in advance!!
  2. Banned
    Banned
    it will not effect his credit at all.

if you want to build credit, getting a visa or master card with a low limit is a way to start.

or getting a store card and then later getting a visa or master card -

however if you are not working you cannot get a credit card with just a student status anymore.
  3. Regular Member
    will our credit be combined when we're married?
    I have 2 jobs right now so I wont have to worry about that requirement
  4. was ncgirl
    was ncgirl
    Quote Originally Posted by KelseyDana View Post