Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help!!!!!!!!! Car Shopping

1. Regular Member

Confused Help!!!!!!!!! Car Shopping

Advertisements
    I need a car. I have been riding on public transportation for the past 5 years, because I've been too scared of car salesmen ripping me off.
    It hasn't been too bad because I live in Chicago. I absolutely need to get one now though, because I am going to have clinicals for nursing school and the start times for those are too early in the morning for most buses to be running.

I can't afford a new one because I am a poor college student (my favorite and least favorite excuse to use, at the same time ). I'm just so worried because I don't want them to rip me off).

Should I settle for the crappy used car, or go for something nicer? How much should I put down? How many miles on a car should I be shooting for? What kind of a car is the most reliable? I am super unknowledgeable when it comes to this stuff and DB is too far away to help.
  2. Senior Member
    I love my honda civic. It's reliable and gets pretty good gas mileage. I got mine new, but the "pre-owned" ones are good too. Is there someone who can go with you? Your father? SO?

I would go in knowing what you want. Do your research online. See what kind of price you can get and bring a print out with you to a dealership to see if they can match it. Down payment should be what you are comfortable with. We bought new and put $4000 down. You definitely don't need to spend that much though.
  3. Senior Member
    You can get reliable used cars. The best thing is to have a male friend or relative go with you. Know exactly what your budget can afford and don't let them push you into something more.