Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: 1st timer wanting to talk

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    Lv. Percent
    23.33%

Neutral 1st timer wanting to talk

Advertisements
    My boyfriend of almost a year just left for deployment today. This is my first time dating someone in the military and I truly am just looking for some advice. He will be gone for 6 months and I feel like I don't know what to do. It has only been a a day and I already have not stopped crying. I can't imagine doing this for 6 months straight. How do y'all do it?!
  2. The name says it all!
    The name says it all!
    Lv. Percent
    71.01%

Take a deep breath. It isn't an easy road, but you can do it! I'm here if you need to talk.

DH: Thank you. ME: For what, babe? DH: For being you.

3. Regular Member
    Lv. Percent
    87.88%
    My man left for a year deployment 2 weeks ago! My first deployment with him but not his first, although it's his longest, so I'm new to this as well. I don't have much advice from personal experience as it's been only a couple weeks, but I have been given advice from others who have been through this and from where I'm standing it seems to be good advice! This is what I have been told: make small goals (daily or weekly) and focus on them instead of trying to count down the year etc; stay busy/continue to live my life; make new routines...

I don't know if any of that helps...I think deployment is going to be tough, but I keep thinking to myself a year is nothing compared to a lifetime
  4. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    Lv. Percent
    33.17%