Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I can barely handle 24hrs, let alone 9 months.

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

I can barely handle 24hrs, let alone 9 months.

Advertisements
    Hi, this is my first time on here and i thought i'd give it a try.

My husband deployed in September. He was barely told out of random around the end of August there was a possibility he was going, it was between him and three others. No offense to my husband, but the others seemed much more qualified than him. He explained to me that since he only was deployed once to Korea a couple years ago, that this is just a "normal process" because he's more likely to be sent out for his first combat mission.

We anxiously waited to receive official orders. Also had plans to take 2 weeks of leave to visit family but we were unsure to go since at the time there was no orders still. Then literally 3 days prior to the scheduled 2 weeks, he had them. We got up and left.
    Barely had a week together, i feel like i took the time for granted.

Now i'm with my family for the time being. This is our first deployment and i'm trying everything i can to convince myself he will be alright, i am definitely not afraid to cry or let myself be sad about it. It's hard for my parents to understand that yeah i know he's okay, he'll come home safely, but shit, this feeling i have just SUCKS.
    I am on the verge of breaking down all the time, just at any time too. It's quite annoying because i don't like crying in front of others or in public but this is very difficult to just hold in and cry later. I feel like the night before + the morning of the day he left i didn't really cry. So i think my emotions are finally taking over, trying to tell me to cry it all out already.

I feel like a mess. I just constantly want to talk to him or just vent to those going through/have gone through this who is just willing to listen.

- Thank you so much for reading.