Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Communication

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

Communication

Advertisements
    Good morning! I am new to this site and deployment. This is my first time away from my BF and so far so good. However, I am unsure how often to communicate to him (whether mail/email/messages). He is in the Navy and I know when they are underway, they have no communication available to them until they are back in port. Is it a good idea to keep them involved in the day to day life that we had before deployment? I don't get in to lengthy emails/messages every day. I only do that a couple of times a week with the other days just sending off messages that I am thinking about him, etc. All messages are always upbeat and positive. I know he has a job to do and don't expect responses. At the same time, I don't want to overwhelm him when he will have internet access. I do know it is important for them to feel like they are a part of life back home and that they aren't forgotten. Is this making sense?
  2. Senior Member
    Does he go out on submarines? Otherwise, it's not true at all that they have no communication while underway. If he's on a ship, he will have email most days, though it can occasionally go down for a couple days here and there, especially on the smaller ships. They also get mail, though it can take 3-4 weeks, or more, to get to them. Where did you hear that they have no communication while at sea?