Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Worried Newbie!

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Worried Newbie!

Advertisements
    Hey there, guys! As the title would suggest, I'm a newbie to this forum AND to dating a military guy who's currently deployed. I dated him roughly 2.5 months before he deployed to Afghanistan, and we're about halfway through at this point. Initially, he was very consistent in contacting me every six days or so, but he changed jobs and places, and since that occurred I rarely hear from him. It has now been a month since I last heard from him, and while I'm not in full-blown panic mode, I am starting to naturally worry as I have not met any of his family and do not know any of his friends because we hadn't been dating long before he left. I know there really is no "normal" in military communication, but I don't know if I should be more worried than I am or not be at all. In addition, I'm starting to feel insecure and am surely inventing scenarios thinking he doesn't want to talk to me. Any suggestions on dealing with this? I deal with things well, but I think it's natural to worry some.
  2. Regular Member
    Hi and welcome. I'm always reluctant to respond to posts regarding frequency of communication (even though once I posted about this very topic) because DF and I talk everyday, just about, unless he's on an extended mission. Some people will say its not healthy but we've always had a long distance relationship and we thrive on daily communication. Do you have any way of contacting him? Email? FB? Did something in particular happen that would lead you to believe he doesn't want to talk to you? I know it can be extremely frustrating but just wait and see what happens. His new job may be extremely stressful and he doesn't want to vent to you or is just in the pits. Most men tend to retract when they are stressed. Sending you hugs and much love and blessings!
  3. Fresh Newbie