Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fisrt Deployment.. marriage??

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Fisrt Deployment.. marriage??

Advertisements
    Hey guys! So my boyfriend goes on deployment pretty soon and I don't know what to expect.. He is coming home for two weeks soon and then will be leaving for deployment. I'm a college student attending the college in the town we grew up in and he is stationed all the way across the country from me. So we are long distance and will be for a long time. I guess the biggest thing on my mind is marriage.. He said the money would be a lot better and that he would put it in a separate account and we would use it to buy a house in a few years. We've been together for a year right now. I wouldn't think twice about this if we were guaranteed to stay together, but life happens..
    I don't have any doubts, I really do think we will stay together, but there's always the "what if" because you never know what you will go through.. Just a little advice from any of you who has gotten married like that? And young? (We are 18 and 19) While still being distance for a while after? Or maybe had the chance to and chose not to? Sorry this is so long! Thanks guys
  2. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

Don’t do it. Take the time to focus on your schooling and learn who you are as an individual. Too many people, who are in situations like yours, see the “fairytale” and it rarely works out. What happens when he comes home? Do you move? What about school? Do you receive financial aid, because that may change if you get married. How will you afford school then? Many military bases are located in areas where more than minimum wage jobs are scarce. Is minimum wage even enough to cover your schooling costs?

Bottom line: Get your degree, then consider the next step in your relationship.
  3. Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Carolina View Post