Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Slow Cooker Prep Question!

1. MissOptimistic
    MissOptimistic
    Blog Entries

Slow Cooker Prep Question!

Advertisements
    So, if I were to prep a few days worth of crock pot recipes, would I freeze them or refrigerate them?
    I've never done this in advance before. My plan is to prep meals for Tuesday-Friday on Monday. Is it safe to just refrigerate them? If not, and if I freeze them, do I need to take extra time into account when cooking? Or would I thaw in advance?

Sorry, I'm pretty clueless. I rarely buy meats to freeze, I like to go from refrigerator to oven/crockpot/stove, so I don't know how this works!

TIA
  2. Mouse Addict
    Mouse Addict
    Check some recipes! Some ask for it to be thawed before putting into the crock pot- I wouldn't freeze those.
  3. Senior Member
    If you are going to cook it within a week you can just put them in the fridge. I typically freeze everything for the month and then defrost the night before I cook the meal.
  4. Senior Member
    I freeze mine, and depending on the meal defrost the night before or throw it in frozen.

5. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

if theres meat i would freeze it haha I'm weird about meat being in the fridge for more than like 2 days. just take it out the night before to defrost it.
  6. my kitchen is for dancing
    my kitchen is for dancing
    Quote Originally Posted by *Heather* View Post
    if theres meat i would freeze it haha I'm weird about meat being in the fridge for more than like 2 days. just take it out the night before to defrost it.
    Im there with you. If theres meat I freeze it. Take out the night before.
    Getting used to the new lifestyle far away from home and leaving my fear behind each day a little more.
  7. Senior Member
    Blog Entries