Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: New Ombudsman

1. Senior Member

New Ombudsman

Advertisements
    I was wondering if anyone had any advice on being an Ombudsman. What do you enjoy about being an Ombudsman? What have you done to be a successful ombudsman? Do you write a newsletter? If so how often and what are things that you include in your newsletter?

I am new to being an ombudsman and I am just wondering what you experiences are with being an ombudsman or interactions with ombudsman.

For those that have a command ombudsman what are things that you like to hear from them and what things do you find unhelpful or annoying?

Just looking for thoughts and commentary. Thanks.
    ~ Sara ~
  2. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    Hi there! I'm a fairly new Ombudsman but wanted to answer a few of your questions.
    What I enjoy about being an Ombudsman so far is meeting new people and being able to help out spouses. To be a successful Ombudsman I think that you need to put yourself out there and let spouses know that your there to help them if they need it but not email them every day! That was a big tip from other Ombudsmen at the training I went to. I also enjoy going to the Ombudsman Assembly every month. You get a lot of great information from them and also get to meet other Ombudsmen in your area.

I do write a newsletter. I write one monthly while they are deployed. I write a newsletter every 2 months when they aren't deployed. I get information from the Ombudsman Assembly, emails from the Ombudsman Registry, and I search a lot of websites like the local MWR for our bases around here. I always like to include a resource for spouses in my newsletter. I put things to do around the area. I always have an area for the CO to put his letter for the families.