Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Need Info and Advice as Navy FRG Leader-to-be

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Need Info and Advice as Navy FRG Leader-to-be

Advertisements
    . I am looking for info about being an FRG Leader. My hubby just transferred to a new command,new ship.Therefore the CO and CMC is trying to find an Ombudsman and FRG for the command. I applied to be an ombudsman but CMC pushing me to start the FRG according to him based on what I said during the ombudsman interview, they feel I am more of an FRG leader. I do feel the same way, I like and would love to do a lot of things for my navy family. The big but is I have never held a group sinced I graduated High School..lol! that was 12 years ago..never attended anything after that . I am a mother of 2 toddler 4 and 2, I am Asian, I speak English but sometimes my pronounciation is off. These are some things that makes me think it twice . Also getting other spouses to attend the meeting and be active..I really need an advice. I think I can do it but I am also the type of person who wants to see the whole picture first before committing. My CMC already give me a copy of the FRG Handbook. I just need some advice from someone who have been there. Please advice me and share your experienced . I would really like to do this but not if I cant convinced myself that I can. I don’t know if that makes sense . My hubby is no help. I ask him all he said is “If you think you can handle the stress”..

I will greatly appreciate all your info and advice.

Thank you

2. Regular Member
    I came to this page looking for similar advice. I've been a Navy wife for 8 months, and just became the president of our FRG last night, not entirely knowing what I was getting in to. I'm also interested in any experience others have and any advice you can offer.