Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone ever sewed something for their s/o?

1. Regular Member

Anyone ever sewed something for their s/o?

Advertisements
    I figured this best belonged in the care package subforum. I don't really have a question, I'm just sharing with you guys something I'm making for DB right now .

I've never sewed anything before (I don't count a seam in, say, a shirt coming apart and me repairing it by hand). But I decided I really wanted to make DB a quilt. He's in Afghanistan right now. I started on the quilt project a couple weeks ago because 1) I was super excited about the idea, and 2) I've never sewed anything before so I didn't know how long it would take me. This is entirely self-taught with the help of Google. Not too shabby for my first sewing project! I'm actually making progress a lot faster than I anticipated. I've finished the top layer mostly, except for adding the border. I'm waiting for that fabric in the mail because Joann's didn't have enough of the shade I wanted. The border is gonna be a dark royal blue. I didn't want it to blend into any of the blocks, yet I still wanted it to complement them. There are actually some royal blue stars in the white blocks. The backing is gonna be all dark royal blue as well when I get to it. Right now I'm going back through the top layer and securing all the seams by hand because I didn't do that part right. I just tied them off Oh well, learning as I go!

I also plan on embroidering a message to him somewhere on the back. It's gonna be so awesome when it's all done When I finish it I promised DB's mom I'd show it to her first before I mail it. Then it's just gonna sit on a shelf in my room until later this fall because that's when I originally planned on mailing it.