Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking Friendship new to military life

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Confused Seeking Friendship new to military life

Advertisements
    Hello,

I am new to this whole online thing... My husband suggested I find one of these sites to gain support from other who are in my shoes.
    Im finding this military lifestyle to be very difficult; something i never would have imagined myself a part of.
    The story between my husband is a long and messy one and now that we are finally together again; I am struggling tremendously to embrace this lifestyle.
    I am here by myself with our little one trying to finish up my degree. Nothing seems to have really changed with this due to the fact that my husband and I were separated for some time. I have tried to talk to other in our family about how I feel at times and I've even let him know as well how I'm feeling. I guess what I'm looking for is someone new to talk to someone who is not biased to either party. I just need someone to shed some light on that little glimmer of hope i'm looking for.
  2. Pour a little salt, we were never here
    Pour a little salt, we were never here

If I read that correctly, you are not living with your husband where he is stationed?

My first suggestion was going to be seeing a counselor on base, because it helped me a lot. I had a really hard time adjusting to military stuff and that helped me tremendously. If you aren't near a base, I think an off base counselor might still be helpful they just might not be as used to the military norms. I had come from a family with very few military members so the demands of the job often seemed ludicrous to me, and I was fairly indignant about it. Having a counselor who found the demands of the job to be perfectly normal and acceptable helped me adapt to them.

Otherwise, this can be a great place to get information and different perspectives