Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: auto insurance

1. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

auto insurance

Advertisements
    womp womp, I'm so over adulting.
    I'm looking to change my car insurance. I currently have Geico and it just went up to about $240/month. I have an auto loan which I know requires I pay more. But, I've been driving since I was 16 (10 years) and I have a perfect record. Something seems wrong.

For both comprehensive and collision I have the $500 deductible. I was considering changing it to $1000 ded. but I'm not sure if that's a bad idea or not? I then got a quote from Progressive for 153/month with the $500 ded. so then I was thinking I should make a switch?

IDK Someone advise me! Also, what coverage do you feel comfortable with? Any awesome/awful insurance companies to steer clear of?
  2. Senior Member
    I think I am currently at a $500 deductible which I find to be high, I would personally be scared to go up to $1,000 especially on comprehensive but deer are a big problem out here. Is this just for one car? If so that does seem extremely high unless it is a very expensive car. We have a 2012 Hyundai Sonata and a 2004 Cadillac CTS (both still with loans) and ours is only $114/month with Geico. Before Geico we had USAA and it was ~$160/month for both cars.

I would at least check around on some other sites for some quotes, they are usually typically quick to get. I know for a lot of people USAA was cheaper, but for us Geico was a lot cheaper.

ETA: Somehow missed the progressive part before - if it is almost $100 a month less I would definitely switch!
  3. Senior Member
    Blog Entries
    ask them what is causing it to be so high.
    Are you under 25?
    If you want my opinion on your relationship or life issues, just ask Villanelle!
    Quote Originally Posted by LittleMsSunshine View Post