Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calling all READERS - What makes it good?

1. Bringing wizard awareness to muggles everywhere
    Bringing wizard awareness to muggles everywhere
    Blog Entries

Calling all READERS - What makes it good?

Advertisements
    I have come up with the INSANE idea to make a goal of actually finishing a novel by the time I am done with graduate school. Don't ask, I have no idea what has possessed me to do such a thing.

I have started numerous novels in my life time. I have had dozens of plot lines, stories, characters all written out for ages. Before I got my bachelors in Psychology, I was actually a creative writing major for 2 years. I'm only 9 credits shy of getting my bachelors in English. (I should have double majored.)

I have a question for all you readers out there.

What makes a story, a plot line interesting enough for you to want to read the book?

I have finally stumbled across a story and content that I am passionate about and really want to move forward with it. I don't have all the details yet and have to do a ton of research before I continue, but I wanted some input from you all.

What makes the back of a book good enough for you to want to read it? Is it a genre? Does it have to be during a certain time in history? Are there things that absolutely can or cannot be included in the book?

Thank you so much for your feedback!
  2. Bringing wizard awareness to muggles everywhere
    Blog Entries
  3. Regular Member
    On a superficial level, I love books with short chapters. I would rather read a book with 100 chapters, each only a few pages long, than a ten chapter book with pages that go on and on. I feel like I have read more that way, and nothing is worse than wanting to stop reading but being in the middle of a really long chapter.