Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Credit & debt reduction

1. Daisy dukes. Bikinis on top.
    Daisy dukes. Bikinis on top.

Credit & debt reduction

Advertisements
    good evening!!

im wondering if i could get a little help with my credit situation. long story short, i was working up until the summer of 2010 and then i stopped working so i could focus on finishing up school. i was getting finaid and able to pay my credit cards. then last march everything went downhill. i graduated and was looking for a job and then i have been sick (i have 3 autoimmune diseases) and car troubles. anywho, i am currently behind and am hoping to start a new job next week.

i plan on getting married next summer and am wondering if you could offer any advice on how to get my credit back together. i want my only major debt when i get married to be 1 credit card (instead of 3 and 2 of which have closed) and my student loan. i plan on working here in ny part time and once my fiance is stationed i'll be moving with him & looking for a full time job. i have no payments other than my phone (60) and my credit cards. i am unsure of pmt amount because have not been able to pay in quite some time...but as far as the closed ones..one i am trying to get a settlement on for 750 and the other is roughly 600. the one i would like to keep active i pay 50 on.

i dont really shop for clothes/shoes unless i need to and when i do i usually buy secondhand clothes. i am going to be starting cooking at home once i get my car. so the main things i spend money on is gas, groceries, and hair product (which i need)

any help is greatly appreciated!
  2. Banned
    Banned
    first hugs- I was in a similar situation and I completely understand how you feel.

the first thing you want to do is close all but your major credit card.