Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Apartments w/ bad credit....HELP!

1. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

Help Apartments w/ bad credit....HELP!

Advertisements
    Here is the backround...
    When i was a very dumb 19 year old I had an apartment in my name with an ex boyfriend. I left for Boot camp with 3 months left on the lease, which he agreed to pay for since I was leaving. He paid all but 1 month (bc we broke up), the last month and now it si on my credit. I am about to turn 24 and my Husband is currently deployed. My husband has immaculate credit/rental history. I have a 623 credit score and still in the process of getting it higher, but that takes time. My problem is that wherever DH lives I have to put my name on the lease bc I am over 18. But he is the one technically paying for it because 1.) I am a stay at home mom/wife and 2.) i am a full time student, he is our only income. The last apartment we had I didnt put my name on the lease. Now that DH is deployed I am wanting to move back near base (we dont want to live on base). So if I apply it will be under his name (I have both types of POA's), but will the apartment give me the keys since he can not be present. I am affraid to put my name on the lease bc I am assuming it will get denied. but why should it matter when the money will be coming out of my Husbands check?

Please help, i am at a loss and really just want to move home and have a home for my Husband to come back to after his deployemnt. What can i do?
  2. The Decider
    The Decider
    Blog Entries
    Yes, they are required to give you the keys.

Have you thought of asking to apply yourself as an occupant only? That way you're also on the lease but not financially responsible, so they don't care about your financial/rental history.

Also, some places don't care that you have poor rental history as long as you've paid it off. If you have no rental debt, you might have better luck.