Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying A House!

1. I ♥ my airman
    I ♥ my airman

Buying A House!

Advertisements
    DH and I want to get into the housing market sometime soon, preferably this year. I was wondering if there are any kind of military benefits that are available to us. My dad used to be a real estate agent awhile back and he remembered some like a lower down payment but wasn't really sure about now. Does anyone have any advice on this or buying a house in general? Thank you in advance!

By nora
  2. Banned
    Banned
    the only thing avail will be the VA loan guaranty here is the website for the best info.

also I am a licensed agent in GA and I can help answer general questions.

Loan Guaranty Service, Home Page (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)
  3. Señor Member
    Señor Member
    With a VA loan (which is pretty much the only thing you can do more than non military buyers) you don't have to put any money down.

be cool.
  4. Senior Member
    Your state may offer a home buyers class that you should definitely take also. I'm sure gunsgirl can help you with other questions. Isn't it nice to have professionals on here that are also military wives? I think that is so wonderful. Supporting each other, etc.

Being home owners will be so rewarding and I am so excited for you!
  5. Senior Member
    If you bank with USAA, you can also use their "Movers" program. If you buy a house through the agent they provide, you get I think $1,250 back in the form of a debit card. You can also get $ if you use USAA to finance the mortgage. We did it and loved having the $ when we moved in!

"If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will be a nation gone under." - President Ronald Reagan
  6. Senior Member
    The Airman and Family Readiness Center on base probably offers a home buying class.
  7. I ♥ my airman
    I ♥ my airman