Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Debt Collector?

1. New to the Navy
    New to the Navy
    Cookeville, TN after bootcamp Charleston, SC

Confused Debt Collector?

Advertisements
    My husband just left for boot camp. We have less then $20,000 in debt and plan to have it paid off in a few years. A debt collector called and I called back to let them know not to call due to my husband being gone. I told him I couldn't tell him what branch of the service. He got me mad and it slipped. He said they can take everything since it was a citi cards account and they are a big company. He said he is ex military and he understands. I asked if he was going to tell the Navy and he said I have his word that he won't because he knows how it works and will not screw up his career.

These people lie. I know that. But this is my first time dealing with one. How do debts and the Navy work? Could he be kicked out? I am freaking out because I don't want my husband to lose his dream career. Help and advice on how to deal with this debt collector? Thanks!
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    Quote Originally Posted by CoCo View Post
    My husband just left for boot camp. We have less then $20,000 in debt and plan to have it paid off in a few years. A debt collector called and I called back to let them know not to call due to my husband being gone. I told him I couldn't tell him what branch of the service. He got me mad and it slipped. He said they can take everything since it was a citi cards account and they are a big company. He said he is ex military and he understands. I asked if he was going to tell the Navy and he said I have his word that he won't because he knows how it works and will not screw up his career.